New York DWI Penalties
Penalties for first-time DWI (driving while intoxicated) offenders in New York vary depending on the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) and level of impairment of the driver. For instance, there are increased penalties for a first-offense DWI where the driver has a BAC of .18% or higher, called an “aggravated DWI.” There are numerous other circumstances which might affect the penalties imposed for a first-offense DWI, including the age of the driver, whether anyone was injured (vehicular assault or vehicular homicide) whether a minor was present in the car, and whether the person was driving a commercial vehicle. Contact the Law Offices of Mark J. Sacco whose dedicated Defense Attorneys defend those accused of drunk or impaired driving against New York DWI Penalties.
Penalties for First-offense DWI/DUI in New York
For drivers charged with a first-offense DWI/DUI in New York, there’s no minimum jail time required, but it’s possible to receive a jail sentence of up to one year. All DWI/DUI convictions (including first offenses) require the use of an ignition interlock device. Fines for a first-time offense range from $500 to $1,000 (or between $1,000 and $2,500 with a BAC of .18% or more). Depending on circumstances, a DWI/DUI conviction can stay on your record (and affect the penalties if you get a DWI in the future) for four, five, ten, or 25 years.
Drunk Driving Defense · New York. You owe it to yourself and your future to mount the most vigorous defense you can, and to do all you can to avoid severe penalties after a drunk driving arrest. For experienced counsel and representation in New York after DWI/DUI arrest, contact our knowledgeable drunk driving defense team at the Law Offices of Mark J. Sacco. We assist clients throughout New York State. Mark J. Sacco will handle all DWI charges, including Underage DWI, Misdemeanor DWI and Felony DUI.
Contact a DWI Defense Lawyer
We’re focused DWI Defense Attorneys, seasoned experts in New York Drunk Driving Laws, and prepared to counsel and represent people across New York State. DWI charges are common, and we vigorously defend juveniles, adults and CDL holders accused of drunk or impaired driving. Our areas of expertise include CDL Violations and Chemical Test Refusal law. To request a free consultation at our law office, call us at 518-380-6005 or contact us online.
Request a Free Consultation Regarding New York DWI Penalties
Serving New York Statewide